MISSISSIPPI INSURANCE DEPARTMENT RULES AND REGULATICN NUMBER 85-101
PERTAINING TO A SPECIAL PERMANENT LICENSE FOR INDUSTRIAL LIFE,
HEALTH AND ACCIDENT INSURANCE

Section 1. AUTHORITY

These rules and regulations are promulgated by the Commissioner of Insurance
of the State of Mississippi to implement Sections 83-5-1, 83-17-107, 83-17-109,
83-17-129 and 83-19-31(A)(5), Mississippi Code of 1972, as Amended, and are being
adopted pursuant to the authority granted the Commissioner of Insurance by Section
83-17-129, Mississippi Code of 1972, as Amended, and in accordance with Sections
25-43-1, et seq., Mississippi Code of 1972, as Amended, known as the Mississippi
Administrative Procedures Law.

In consideration of the foregoing, I George Dale, Commissioner of Insurance
of the State of Mississippi do hereby promulgate and adopt the following rules
and regulation with an effective date of December 1, 1985 and compliance with
the applicable statutes.

Section 2. PURPOSE

The purposes of these rules and regulations are to establish pre-license
requirements for applicants applying for a permanent privilege license to offer
for sale and the selling of industrial 1ife, accident and health insurance
contracts within this State and to improve the competency of such applicants.
Section 3. APPLICABILITY

These rules and regulations shall apply to all resident and non-resident
individuals who apply for a permanent agent's privilege license to engage in

the sale of industrial life, health and accident insurance.



Section 4. PRE-LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
A prospective licensee for a permanent industrial life, health and accident
license must meet the following pre-license requirements before an application
for an examination can be submitted to the Home Service Life Insurers Council.
A permanent Industrial Life, Health and Accident License Study
Guide as approved by the Mississippi Insurance Department, including
any amendments, revisions, additions or modifications made to such
Guide after the effective date of this regulation will be provided
to the prospective licensee by the Home Service Life Insurers Council.
Prospective licensee must complete under the direction of a licensed
industrial life, accident and health company five (5) hours of

instruction utilizing the herein-described study guide in preparation
for the examination.

The licensed industrial company must declare on the application for

examination that the applicant has completed the requirements as set

forth above before an examination can be administered.
Section 5. DEFINITION OF SPECIAL LICENSE

Any agent who sells industrial life, health and accident policies (as
defined by Section 83-19-31, Mississippi Code of 1972, as Amended), where benefits
are equal to or less than $5,000 per policy for life insurance and disability
benefits are equal to or less than $60.00 per week may be eligible for this license.
Section 6. ADMINISTRATION PROCEDURES AND EXAMINATION SCHEDULE

Administration procedures and examination schedule for a License to write
Permanent Industrial Life, Health and Accident Insurance administered by The

Home Service Life Insurers Council:

1. Upon request, the Home Service Life Insurers Council will provide study
materials to applicants to satisfy pre-license requirements.

2. Applicants for examination will be mailed to the Secretary of the Home
Service Life Insurers Council.

3. The Secretary will notify a member of HSLIC that an examination has been
requested and will set examination dates and notify the applicant of the
date and place of examination.

4. Any member of the Home Service Life Insurers Council may administer the
examination and report such results to the Mississippi Department of
Insurance on the forms prescribed and provided, including amendments,



10.

revisions or modifications made thereto, for such purpose.
Examinations will be administered every Monday at 1:00 P.M. except holidays.

A member company cannot administer an examination to an applicant who is
its prospective employee unless there are other applicants who are
prospective employees of other companies present also for the examinationm.

Only members of the Home Service Life Insurers Council will be allowed to
administer the examinationm.

The Secretary of the Home Service Life Insurers Council will be responsible
for coordinating the examination procedures and schedule for examinations.

Examinations will be chosen by the member company from those approved by
the Mississippi Department of Insurance.

The Home Service Life Insurers Council understands that the passage of
this examination does not constitute the automatic issuance of the above
license and that the applicant must satisfy any other requirements as
set forth by the Mississippi Department of Insurance and that the
Mississippi Department of Insurance has the sole discretion for the
issuance of the above license.

Section 7. SEPARABILITY

If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof to any

person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder

of these rules and regulations and the application of such provision to other

persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

Section 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

These rules and regulations shall be effective from and after December

1, 1985.
PROMULGATED AND ADOPTED this the 23rd day of October, 1985.
\
ﬁ’“‘/}- ~2r
GEORGE DAIJE

COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE



