~— STATE OF MISSISSIPPI
Mississippi Insurance Department

GEORGE DALE

1804 Walter Sillers Building (39201)
Commissioner of insurance Post Office Box 79
State Fire Marshal Jackson, Mississippi 39205-0079
(601) 359-3569

CHARLES J. WEEKS

Deputy Commissioner

MISSISSIPPI REGULATION NO. 95-101
REGULATION REGARDING PROFESSIONAL
BAIL AGENT'S FINES AND PENALTIES

Table of Contents

Section 1. Statutory Authority
Section 2. Purpose

Section 3. Applicability
Section 4. Severability
Section 5. Effective Date
Section 1. Statutory Authority

This regulation is promulgated by the Commissioner of
- Insurance of the State of Mississippi to implement Miss. Code Ann.
§§83-39-1 et seq. (Supp. 1994), and is being adopted pursuant to
the authority granted the Commissioner of Insurance by Miss. Code
Ann. §83-39-3(3)(Supp. 1994), and in accordance with Miss. Code
Ann. §25-43-1(Rev. 1991), known as the Mississippi Administrative
Procedures Law and Regulation No. 88-101 known as Rules &
Procedures before the Mississippi Insurance Department.

Section 2. Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to promulgate rules and
regulations necessary for the enforcement of this chapter by
establishing fines and penalties.

Section 3. Applicability

This regulation shall apply to those terms defined in Miss.
Code Ann. §83-39-1(Supp. 1994).

A. Any person, individual or corporation as defined in Miss.
Code Ann. §83-39-1(Supp. 1994), found in violation of Miss. Code
Ann. §§83-39-3, 83-39-5, 83-39-13, 83-39-15, 83-39-25(Supp. 1994)
and/or their subsections may be fined up to One Thousand Dollars
($1,000.00) per violation and/or their license refused, suspended,
- revoked or the renewal thereof refused.

EXHIBIT

"A"



B. Any person, individual or corporation as defined in Miss.
Code Ann. §83-39-1(Supp. 1994) found in violation of Miss. Code
Ann. §83-39-7(Supp. 1994) by allowing Revocation Orders to be sent

to the Mississippi Insurance Department may be fined as per the
following schedule:

(1) First order up to $500.00 fine.

(2) Second order within twelve (12) months of first order
up to $1,000.00 fine.

(3) Third order within twelve (12) months of first order

up to $5,000.00 fine and/or up to six (6) month license
suspension.

(4) Fourth order within twelve (12) months of first order,
the permanent revocation of the professional bail agent's
license and/or up to $10,000.00 fine.

C. Any violation not covered under B herein may carry a fine

of up to One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) per violation and/or
license suspension.

D. Any applicant not able to prove "Good Moral Character"
required under Miss. Code Ann. §83-39-9(Supp. 1994), may have
his/her license denied, suspended, revoked or refused at renewal
under Miss. Code Ann. §83-39-5(a)(Supp. 1994).

E. Any '"repeated" violation other than forfeitures on
Revocation Orders within a twelve (12) month period may have the
following penalty:

(1) Second offense within a twelve (12) month period up to
$5,000.00 per violation.

(2) Third offense within a twelve (12) month period up to
$5,000.00 and/or license suspension.

(3) Fourth offense within a twelve (12) month period up to
$5,000.00 and/or permanent revocation of license.

Section 4. Severability

If any provision of this requlation or the application thereof
to any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid,
the remainder of these rules and regulations and the application of

such provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be
affected thereby.

Section 5. Effective Date

These rules and requlations shall become effective 30 days

from and after its adoption and filing with the Secretary of
State's office.



